Copy of:

GOVERNMENT OF TAMILNADU Abstract

Heritage towns - Conservation and development of Heritage towns in Tamilnadu - Declaration of 15 more towns as Heritage towns - Orders - Issued.

MUNICIPAL ADMINISTRATION AND WATER SUPPLY DEPARTMENT

G.O.Ms.No.191 Dated: 18.7.1994

Read:

- 1. G.O.Ms.No. 163, Municipal Administration and Water Supply Department, dated 6.7.93.
- 2. From the Convenor, Indian National Trust for INT/ , dt. 29.5.93.

.....

ORDER:

In the G.O. first read above, orders were issued declaring 23 towns as Heritage towns and the Government constituted a Working group to monitor the preparation of Action Plan for conservation and development of heritage towns for the benefit of posterity.

- 2. In the meeting held on 12.1.94, the Working Group constituted in G.O.ms.No.163, Municipal Administration and Water Supply Department dated 6.7.93, decided to include 15 more towns/areas in the list of Heritage towns declared in the said Government order.
- 3. The Government accept the recommendation of the Working Group and declare the following 15 towns as Heritage towns in addition to the 23 towns already declared as Heritage towns in the Government order first read above and Action Plan should be prepared in respect of all 38 towns:-

Sriperumbudur

Tirunelveli

Tiruchengode

Karaikudi

Peroor

Bhavani

Pichavaram

Marudur

Kurinjippadi (birth places of Vallalar)

Thirumayam Chittannavasal Avudayarkoil Padmanabhapuram Colachal (Kanyakumari District) Marakkanam

4. The Director of Town and Country Planning is requested to take follow up action in the matter. He is also requested to send a report on the action taken in the matter to Government.

(BY ORDER OF THE GOVERNOR)

J.V.Chandrasekaran, Joint Secretary to Government